Thu. Oct 1st, 2020

The 27th Annual General Meeting of the Sri Lanka Association of Airline representatives (SLAAR) was held on September 10, 2020 at The Ramada Colombo.

Newly appointed committee consist of Ms. Thanuja Lankathilake (Chairperson – GSA Air India), Mr. Gerard Victoria (Immediate Past Chairman – Hayleys Aviation), Mr. Gyan Amerasinghe (Deputy Chairman – GSA Emirates Airline), Mr. Shamith Wijethilake (Secretary – GSA Air Asia), Mr. Dumindu Amarathunge (Treasurer – Leisure Cargo Lanka), Mr. Srimath Fernando (Asst. Treasurer – GSA Saudi Airline), Ms. Sureeka Fernando (Committee Member – GSA Swiss International Airline), Mr. Niranjan Athapaththu (Committee Member – GSA Kuwait Airways), Ms. Praharshini Bolling (Committee Member – GSA Singapore Airline), Ms. Sudeshinie Jayawardena (Committee Member – GSA British Airways), Ms. Sashini Muthuthanthri (Committee Member – GSA Indigo Airline), Mr. Sajith Amarasekara (Committee Member – GSA Malaysian Airline) and Mr. Santhush Udumalagala (Committee Member – GSA Malindo Air).

Captain Themiya Abeywickrama – Director General & Chief Executive Officer of Civil Aviation Authority of Sri Lanka graced the event as the Chief Guest and Major General (Rtd) G. A Chandrasiri – Chairman of Airport and Aviation Services (Sri Lanka) Ltd as the Guest of Honor.

Addressing the gathering, the newly elected Chairperson of SLAAR – Ms. Thanuja Lankathilake said, “SLAAR would continue to strengthen the close working relations and bonds we have had over the years with industry stakeholders. Especially during this time when the global aviation industry is being challenged at its highest resulting from the after effects of the COVID-19 pandemic. SLAAR would extend its fullest support in promoting Sri Lanka in becoming an aviation hub in the near future”

I will not deny that the task ahead for us is a monumental one, and with the newly elected committee, we will ensure that no stone will remain unturned as we drive ourselves to claw back to what it was prior to coronavirus pandemic and uplift the industry for the benefit of all its stakeholders.” She further added.

Gerard Victoria the outgoing Chairman said, “The volatile landscape in the pandemic has enforced a new outlook to the way we conduct business. It is vital to adapt, collaborate and optimize strengths to face the challenges of the pandemic while pushing boundaries in order that Aviation can endure and overcome for resilient performance.”

SLAAR was founded in 1993 with the primary goal of providing the off-line Airlines with an opportunity to voice their difficulties, to seek common solutions as well as to discuss matters pertaining to their day-to-day operations. Its membership consists of 33 Passenger and Cargo General Sales Agencies.

The Association has since earned itself a reputation for being a vibrant association that safeguards the interests of the members as well as the interest of the Travel Industry. It continues to focus on meeting the challenges of the Airline representatives in a professional manner whilst ensuring the growth and success of the industry.

Photo Caption: Row 1 Sitting Left to Right – Parveen Dissanayake, Dushy Jayaweera, Gerard Victoria, Thanuja Lankathilake, Major General (Rtd.) G A Chandrasiri, Capt. Themiya Abeywickrama, Gyan Amerasinghe, Eustace Silva, Rayhan Wanniappa, Shamith Wijethilake. Row 2 Standing Left to Right – Dumindu Amarathunge, Sunethra Blok, Sureeka Fernando, Niranjan Athapaththu, Srimath Fernando, Sashini Muthuthanthri, Praharshini Bolling, Sudeshinie Jayawardena, Santhush Udumalagala, Ravi Widyalankara, Sajith Amarasekara.


By Editor

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *